Recent Reads – March

Non-fiction

Declutter And Simplify – 33 Proven Ways To Declutter And Simplify Your Life – pretty basic de-cluttering tips. I’m a sucker for anything de-cluttering or organizing though so… I just can’t stop myself. In fact, I just added about 10 more of this type to my Kindle Unlimited reading list.  It’s private to hide my shame.

The Universe Doesn’t Give a Flying Fuck About You – This is a truth to live by.  Don’t get wrapped up in how important you are.  It’s true – who cares if we screw up.  Try something!

Leave Your Mark – Some of my favorite non-fiction books are from people that work in fashion magazines.  This one was an extra treat because it went behind the scenes with Aliza Licht, the girl behind the DKNY PR Girl Twitter.

All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood – Very good read about the ups & downs of parenthood & how we perceive them. A lot about how parenthood itself has evolved in recent years which I found very interesting even though I don’t have kids of my own.

Fiction

The Origin of Dracula – Once I started it I was hooked.  It’s about the past coming back to haunt the characters, in supernatural ways.  I think that’s all I can say without spoiling.  It’s a strange book, lots of twists & turns, some tied up in a bow, some not.

Sad Monsters: Growling on the Outside, Crying on the Inside – cute, fast read.  Just helps you realize that everyone has it hard sometimes, even imaginary monsters.

Asylum – billed as “perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.” I think it was a good book on its own but I didn’t necessarily feel like it was too similar to Peregrine’s – other than the use of photos throughout the story. I did enjoy it & will read the next one eventually.  I actually have Peregrine’s sequel queued up though so the sequel to Asylum will have to wait a bit.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *